The Baby Animals’ Party by Katharine Ross



This book is currently out of print, which is sad. It’s beautifully illustrated by Lisa McCue, and tells a lovely little story about welcoming a new baby into the community. We were lucky enough to come across it in a bundle of free books we found on Craigslist, and can’t wait to share it with you all.


We came across this book in a box of free children’s books I got off Craigslist. Most of the books have just ended up as “filler” for Kiddo’s bookshelf, but there were a few gems. This story in particular is my favorite.

It teaches children the names for different baby animals and adjectives associated with them; it has onomatopoeia; it teaches directions; it teaches sharing; it teaches about the gifts that each individual has (like laughter!); and finally, it teaches about welcoming a new baby, which would be great for a new brother or sister. Even better, it does all of this with a beautifully written story that is organic to the subject matter. I really, truly adore this book.

And don’t even get me started on the illustrations. Amazing. They are full-page woodland scenes, vibrant with color and detail. This well-loved book is on its last leg already, but I might just laminate the pages to help preserve the story and pictures. It’s that good.


I let my mom read this to me because it’s longer than my other books, which is helpful when I’m trying to delay something like nap time. The pictures are pretty to look at, but I get bored after a while. Maybe I’ll like it more when I’m older.

Leave a Reply

